18TH Edmonton Scout Group Minutes of the AGM Friday 20th May 2005

1. Welcome

The Chairman, Paul Symons welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Flagbreak was performed by Mark Bateman and GSL.

John Symons said an opening prayer.

2. **Apologies for absence.**

Apologies were received from Rev. Ian Anderson and John Jewson.

3. **Minutes of Last Meeting.**

The minutes of the last AGM were agreed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

4. Health and Safety

There have been no serious incidents since the last meeting.

5. **2004/2005** Accounts

The accounts prepared by Rob Bruce and scrutinised by David Lo were agreed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

6. Chairman's Report

The Chairman gave a brief report on the work of the executive committee during the last year and thanked the executive committee for their support.

The Chairman then stood down and handed over to GSL.

7. **Group Annual Report**

The GSL presented her report.

8. Chair Nomination

GSL nominated Paul Symons for the position of Chairman. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by a show of hands.

9. **Election Of Secretary**

The Chairman nominated Lucy Bragg for the position of secretary. There were no other nominations and this appointment was agreed by a show of hands.

10. **Election Of Treasurer**

The Chairman nominated Rob Bruce for the position of Treasurer. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by a show of hands.

11. Election of Scrutiniser

David Lo was nominated for the position and this was agreed by a show of hands.

12. Sponsoring Authorities Nomination to Group Executive

Toni Scott is standing down as the Church Representative and Rev. Ian Anderson has nominated Heather McIsaac-Hall as her replacement.

13. **GSL Nominations to Group Executive**

GSL nominated the following members to the executive committee:-

Beaver Representative
Cub Representative
Cub Representative
Cub Representative
Scout Representative
Sue Bateman
Barbara Barnicoat
Claire Gopoulos
Mike Morrissey
Dave Edwards
Richard Clark

14. Election of Members to group Executive

The Chairman proposed the following be elected to the executive committee:-

Brenda Kennedy

Keith Kimber

John Jewson

Ian Kirby

Jan Ballett

They were elected by a show of hands.

15. **Beaver Items**

The Beaver Leader presented her report and gave awards to the following beavers:-

Beavers Discovery Challenge Badge James Finch
Outdoor Activity Award Andrew Lee
Chief Scout Bronze Award Rachel Bateman

16. **Cub Items**

CSL presented her report and gave awards to the following cubs:-

Best Behaved Cub. Jonathan Barnicoat Sixer Stripe Katelyn Edwards

A presentation on behalf of all the cubs was made to Keith Kimber and Mike Cansfield by David Cansfield and Andrew Stark to thank them for running the football training on Saturday afternoons.

17. **Scout Items**

SL presented the Scout Report.

18. **Presentations**

The Chairman announced the results of the Football Prediction Competition and presented £82.00 to the winner Jonathan Barnicoat.

The Chairman asked for a few moments silence to remember Marjorie Bird and Peter Soutter who had passed away in the past year.

19. The meeting closed at 7.30 pm and was followed by a Mini Gang Show involving children from all the sections.