18th Edmonton (Methodist) Scout Group Minutes of the AGM Friday 15th May 2009

1. Welcome

The Chairman, Heather McIsaac-Hall, welcomed everybody to the AGM.

Flag Break was performed, the Rev Tim Swindell said an opening prayer and the Chairman explained voting rules.

The Group Scout Leader, Paul Symons, read out a letter stating that Rachel Bateman had been selected for a Jack Petchey award, and she was presented with a certificate by Mark Dowsett, the District Commissioner.

2. **Apologies for Absence**

Apologies for absence were received from Barbara Barnicoat, Aisha Carroll, Shan Gerrard, Rev Alistair Jones, Sue Morrissey and Raymond Prentice.

3. Minutes of Last Meeting (16th May 2008)

The Minutes of the last AGM were approved as a true record of the meeting by a show of hands.

4. Health & Safety Report

There have been no major incidents since the last AGM.

5. **2008/2009** Accounts

The Accounts prepared by the Treasurer, Rob Bruce, have yet to be scrutinised. The Accounts were accepted by a show of hands, subject to successful scrutiny.

6. Chairman's Report

The Chairman reported that the Group had been lucky to secure three new leaders during the previous year – Jane Topping (Beavers), Jane Wheeler (Cubs) and Jeremy Bullock (Scouts). The Quiz Night had raised £480, a figure which had been matched by Barclays.

7. **Group Scout Leader's Report**

The Group Scout Leader reported that Scouting was continuing to grow. The Group had room for a few more children, and he emphasised that there was still a need for more leaders despite the three new leaders secured since the last AGM. He made presentations to the leaders, and thanked Heather McIsaac-Hall for her work as Chairman.

8. Nomination of Chair by GSL and approval by Group Council

The GSL nominated Dave Edwards as the new Chairman. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by a show of hands.

9. **Election of Secretary**

The Chairman nominated Richard Clark for the position of Secretary. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by a show of hands.

10. Election of Treasurer

The Chairman nominated Nicola Headland for the position of Treasurer. There were no other nominations and her election was agreed by a show of hands.

11. Election of Scrutiniser

The Chairman nominated Rob Bruce for the position of Scrutiniser. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by a show of hands.

12. Agreement of Account Signatories

Nicola Headland, Dave Edwards and Paul Symons were agreed as Account Signatories by a show of hands.

13. Sponsoring Authorities Nomination to Group Executive

The Rev Tim Swindell advised that he wished Mary Bird to continue in this role.

14. GSL's Nominations for Members to Group Executive

The GSL nominated the following members to the Group Executive Committee: Jo Allen, Paul Burton and Cheryl Keen. These nominations were approved by a show of hands.

15. Election of Members to Group Executive

The Chairman proposed that the following be elected to the Group Executive Committee: Sue Bateman, Ian Kirby, Heather McIsaac-Hall and Raymond Prentice. These nominations were approved by a show of hands.

16. **Presentations**

Year Stars were presented to all eligible children.

A cheque for £375 was presented to Sue Bateman on behalf of ASSERT, the Angelman Syndrome Support Education & Research Trust, which has been the Group's chosen charity for the last year. Sue thanked the Group and explained how this donation would help affected families.

Mark Dowsett, the District Commissioner, commented on the fantastic work being done by all associated with the Group, and noted that numbers had risen from 61 to 66 during the year. He presented Sally Symons with her Bar to the Award for Merit.

Heather McIsaac-Hall expressed her thanks to the outgoing members of the Group Exec Committee: Jan Ballett, Barbara Barnicoat, Rob Bruce and Brenda Kennedy. Gifts were presented to Jan, Rob and Brenda who were present. A gift will be taken to Barbara when she has returned from holiday.

The CSL presented her report and gave the Best Behaved Cub award to Liam Wilson. She explained that the pack had been as busy as ever and outlined many of the activities that had taken place throughout the year. She thanked everyone who had helped out over the past year, and presented gifts to a variety of helpers.

The Scout Leader echoed the CSL's comments re assorted activities. She thanked the other leaders for their assistance and Sue Bateman for her help at Scout meetings.

Katelyn Edwards and Aidan Langan were presented with the Chief Scout Gold Award.

Andy Heath presented a video about Explorers, which showed many of the activities in which the Bush Hill Park Explorer Unit had been involved over the previous year.

17. **Entertainment**

A varied programme of entertainment was provided, including Aishling Edwards on piano, who was presented with a Chief Scout Silver Award as this performance concluded her work for this award.

18. Flag Down

The Meeting closed at 8.35 pm and was followed by refreshments.