18th Edmonton (Methodist) Scout Group Minutes of the AGM Friday 10th May 2013

1. Welcome

The Group Chairman, Heather Connor, welcomed everybody to the AGM. Flag Break was performed. Paul Symons, the outgoing Group Scout Leader (GSL), explained voting rules. The Rev Tim Swindell welcomed everyone and said an opening prayer.

2. ShelterBox

A cheque for £421.55 was presented to Adrian Faiers of ShelterBox, the Group's nominated charity. A short film detailing the work of ShelterBox was shown after which Adrian added some words of his own. (See <u>www.youngshelterbox.org</u> for more information.)

3. **Apologies for Absence**

Apologies for absence were received from Anna Gill and Pat Powell.

4. Minutes of Last Meeting (18th May 2012)

The Minutes of the last AGM, previously available from the Group web site, were approved as a true record of the meeting.

5. Health & Safety Report

There have been no major incidents since the last AGM.

6. **2012/2013 Accounts**

The 2012/2013 Accounts were previously available from the Group web site. There were no questions for the Treasurer and these were taken as approved by show of hands.

7. Chairman's Report

The Chairman thanked all of the leaders and the Exec for their hard work and support over the year. She spoke about the various camps held throughout the year and the considerable efforts that go into making these so enjoyable for the children. A particular highlight of the year had been the great honour for the Group of leading St. George's Day Parade. She asked that everybody try to put aside some time to help out the Group, adding that there were plenty of activities for which help was needed other than providing assistance at Friday night meetings.

The Chairman then paid tribute to the work of the outgoing GSL, Paul Symons, who had also previously been Group Chairman. On behalf of the Exec and the Church, she presented Paul with an engraved Roman Arch Clock. Sally Symons was thanked for providing constant support for all that Paul did and presented with flowers.

8. Group Scout Leader's Report

The outgoing GSL explained that he was moving on to become the District Commissioner for Enfield. He praised the leadership team and commented on how fortunate the Group was to have so many active young leaders. Assorted gifts were presented. He also thanked the Exec for their assistance and thanked Revs Tim Swindell and Bill Tardy and the congregation of the Church for all of their support. Colin and Sue Bateman were presented with Thanks Badges in recognition of their unfailing help and support to the Group over many years.

9. Handover to new GSL

The outgoing GSL formally handed over to his successor, Cheryl Keen, and wished her well for the future, adding that he was sure he was leaving the role in good hands.

10. Nomination of Chair by GSL and approval by Group Council

The GSL nominated Heather Connor for the position of Chairman. Her election was agreed by show of hands.

11. Election of Secretary

The Chairman nominated Richard Clark for the position of Secretary. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

12. Election of Treasurer

The Chairman nominated David Fox for the position of Treasurer. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

13. Election of Scrutiniser

The Chairman nominated Rob Bruce for the position of Scrutiniser. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

14. Agreement of Account Signatories

Heather Connor, David Fox and Cheryl Keen were agreed as Account Signatories by show of hands.

15. Sponsoring Authorities Nomination to Group Executive

The Rev Tim Swindell advised that he would be taking on this role.

16. Section Leaders Sitting on the Group Executive Committee

The Scout Leader, Graham Reid, has elected to sit on the Group Executive Committee. The Cub Leader and Beaver Leader have elected not to sit on the Group Executive Committee.

17. GSL's Nominations for Members to Group Executive

The GSL nominated the following members to the Group Executive Committee: Stuart Butcher, Anna Gill, Inge Hussein and Karli Turner. These nominations were approved by show of hands.

18. Election of Members to Group Executive

The Chairman proposed that the following be elected to the Group Executive Committee: Jo Allen, Dave Edwards, David Jackson and Ian Kirby. These nominations were approved by show of hands.

19. **Presentations**

The Beaver Leader presented badges and thanked leaders, young leaders and helpers for their help and support. Gifts were presented.

The Cub Scout Leader presented her report, detailing the varied and active programme that had taken place throughout the year. Heather, Graham, Colin and Sue were highlighted for their assistance at camps. She thanked leaders, young leaders and helpers for their assistance and presented gifts. The Exec and Church were also thanked for their support. The Best Behaved Cub award was presented to Celeste.

The Scout Leader outlined some of the many activities that had taken place during the year. He thanked leaders, young leaders and helpers for their assistance and presented gifts.

Darren Leonard spoke on behalf of the Bush Hill Park Explorer Unit, detailing some of the activities that the Unit had participated in over the past year. He explained that he was always in need of more adult help.

20. Entertainment

A programme of entertainment was provided, involving children from all the sections.

21. Flag Down

The Meeting closed at 8.40 pm and was followed by refreshments.