18th Edmonton (Methodist) Scout Group Minutes of the AGM Friday 20th May 2011

1. Welcome

The Group Scout Leader, Paul Symons, welcomed everybody to the AGM.

Flag Break was performed, the Rev Tim Swindell said an opening prayer and the Group Scout Leader explained voting rules.

2. **Apologies for Absence**

Apologies for absence were received from Karen Cook, Andy Hawkes, Richard Hazlett and Danny Morgan.

3. Minutes of Last Meeting (21st May 2010)

The Minutes of the last AGM, previously available from the Group web site, were approved as a true record of the meeting by show of hands.

4. Health & Safety Report

There have been no major incidents since the last AGM.

5. **2010/2011** Accounts

The 2010/2011 Accounts were previously available from the Group web site. There were no questions for the Treasurer and these were taken as approved.

6. Chairman's Report

The Chairman thanked everyone who had helped the Group in any way at all over the previous year and stressed that the Group is always on the lookout for new people to help out. Amongst the many activities and events during the year, he felt that the acquisition of the Ron Bird Memorial Hut had been a particular highlight.

The Chairman explained that, once the Low Emission Zone policy came into force on 3rd January 2012, the Group would no longer be able to use either of its 2 vehicles without incurring a £100 per day charge. He said that any ideas were welcome – for example if people knew of places offering inexpensive vehicle hire or of compliant vehicles for sale – and thanked the 2 people who had already offered assistance in this respect. (Only diesel vehicles are impacted by this policy.)

7. Group Scout Leader's Report

The Group Scout Leader thanked everyone for attending. A Thanks Badge was presented to Richard Clark for his work as Group Secretary and Saturday afternoon football coach.

The Group Scout Leader reported that the leader team had remained fairly stable over the period and thanked everybody who had been part of this team. He added that there will be forthcoming changes in the Scout Troup, with Mandy Flunder and Jane Bailey stepping down and Pete Miskin taking over as Scout Leader, assisted by Cheryl Keen and Graham Reid. Flowers were presented to Nicola Headland, who is standing down as Treasurer.

A video provided by the Scout Association was shown (available at www.scouts.org.uk/join).

The Group Scout Leader finished by saying that the Group was constantly looking for more leaders and asked anybody who was potentially interested to come and speak to him.

8. Nomination of Chair by GSL and approval by Group Council

The GSL nominated Dave Edwards as the Chairman. His election was agreed by show of hands.

9. **Election of Secretary**

The Chairman nominated Richard Clark for the position of Secretary. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

10. **Election of Treasurer**

The Chairman nominated David Fox for the position of Treasurer. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

11. Election of Scrutiniser

The Chairman nominated Rob Bruce for the position of Scrutiniser. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

12. Agreement of Account Signatories

David Fox, Dave Edwards and Paul Symons were agreed as Account Signatories by show of hands.

13. Sponsoring Authorities Nomination to Group Executive

The Rev Tim Swindell reported that Mary Bird was stepping down from this role, and paid tribute to all of her hard work over many years. A nomination for her replacement will be made in due course.

14. Section Leaders Sitting on the Group Executive Committee

All of the Section Leaders elected not to sit on the Group Executive Committee.

15. GSL's Nominations for Members to Group Executive

The GSL nominated the following members to the Group Executive Committee: Sue Bateman, Heather Connor, Anna Gill and David Jackson. These nominations were approved by show of hands.

16. Election of Members to Group Executive

The Chairman proposed that the following be elected to the Group Executive Committee: Jo Allen, Ian Kirby and Heather McIsaac-Hall. These nominations were approved by show of hands.

17. **Presentations**

Year Stars were presented to all eligible children.

The Beaver Leader thanked leaders and helpers and presented gifts. She said that numbers would be small after the next batch of children move up to Cubs, and that any 6 - 8 year olds interested in joining the Beaver Colony would be very welcome.

The Cub Scout Leader presented her report and gave the Best Behaved Cub award to Thomas Barnett. She listed many activities that had taken place throughout the year, and mentioned the continued relationship with the 20th Southgate Pack. No fewer than 8 Chief Scout Silver Awards were achieved over the year. She thanked the Church for all their support, including their contribution to the Ron Bird Memorial Hut, and everyone who had helped out over the past year. Gifts were presented to a number of helpers. On the negative side, a sleepover had been cancelled due to not enough adult help, and attendances at Church Parade and other events had been low.

The Scout Leader outlined some of the activities that had taken place during the year. She thanked leaders and helpers for their assistance and presented gifts. Finally, she wished Pete Miskin the best of luck as her successor.

Andy Heath gave a presentation on behalf of the Bush Hill Park Explorer Unit.

18. **District Commissioner**

The District Commissioner, Mark Dowsett, made a brief speech in which he commented on how good it was to see a high number of Young Leaders involved with the Group, and how he felt that strong teamwork was key to the success of the 18th Edmonton Scout Group.

Katherine Allen was presented with her Jack Petchey Award.

19. **Entertainment**

A programme of entertainment was provided, involving children from all the sections.

20. **Meeting Closure**

The Meeting closed at 8.35 pm and was followed by refreshments.