18th Edmonton (Methodist) Scout Group Minutes of the AGM Friday 18th May 2012

1. Welcome

The Group Scout Leader (GSL), Paul Symons, and outgoing Chairman, Dave Edwards, welcomed everybody to the AGM. Flag Break was performed. The Rev Tim Swindell welcomed everyone and said an opening prayer and the GSL explained voting rules.

2. **Apologies for Absence**

Apologies for absence were received from Rob Bruce, Simon Fouracre, Andy Hawkes, Ian Kirby and Pat Powell.

3. Minutes of Last Meeting (20th May 2011)

The Minutes of the last AGM, previously available from the Group web site, were approved as a true record of the meeting by show of hands.

4. Health & Safety Report

There have been no major incidents since the last AGM.

5. **2011/2012** Accounts

The 2011/2012 Accounts were previously available from the Group web site. There were no questions for the Treasurer and these were taken as approved by show of hands. A cheque for $\pounds 272.33$ has been sent to ShelterBox, the Group's nominated charity for the year.

6. Chairman's Report

The Chairman thanked all members of the Exec Committee for their work over the previous year and encouraged anybody thinking of joining the Exec to consider putting themselves forward. He thanked Sue Bateman and Heather McIsaac-Hall, who are both standing down from the Exec, for their many years of service. The GSL was thanked for his support.

The Chairman explained that, due to the Low Emission Zone policy which came into force on 3^{rd} January 2012, both of the Group's vehicles had been changed. One parent had kindly donated a van, and, thanks largely to the efforts of Heather Connor (with help from others), Enfield Council had provided a grant of £20,000 towards the cost of a brand new minibus.

The Chairman highlighted the two-way relationship between the Group and Bury Lodge Park, where Scouts have been doing volunteer work as part of their Community Challenge Badge.

7. Group Scout Leader's Report

The GSL presented a Thanks Badge to Dave Edwards for his work as Chairman. He also thanked the Exec Committee for all of their support and assistance.

The GSL reported that there had been big changes in the leader team in September last year, however he was very proud of what the leaders had achieved since then. He was also proud to witness the efforts of the four Young Leaders, all of whom have come up through the Group.

The Group Scout Leader finished by saying that the Group was still looking for more adult leaders, especially for the Cub and Beaver teams, and asked anybody who was potentially interested, or knew of anybody who may be, to let him know.

8. Nomination of Chair by GSL and approval by Group Council

The GSL nominated Heather Connor as the new Chairman. Her election was agreed by show of hands. The GSL presented Heather with a Thanks Badge for her work in securing a grant for the minibus.

9. Election of Secretary

The Chairman nominated Richard Clark for the position of Secretary. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

10. Election of Treasurer

The Chairman nominated David Fox for the position of Treasurer. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

11. Election of Scrutiniser

The Chairman nominated Rob Bruce for the position of Scrutiniser. There were no other nominations and his election was agreed by show of hands.

12. Agreement of Account Signatories

David Fox, Heather Connor and Paul Symons were agreed as Account Signatories by show of hands.

13. Sponsoring Authorities Nomination to Group Executive

The Rev Tim Swindell advised that he wished Karen Cook to continue in this role.

14. Section Leaders Sitting on the Group Executive Committee

The Scout Leader, Graham Reid, elected to sit on the Group Executive Committee. The Cub Leader and Beaver Leader elected not to sit on the Group Executive Committee.

15. GSL's Nominations for Members to Group Executive

The GSL nominated the following members to the Group Executive Committee: Stuart Butcher, Anna Gill, David Jackson and Karli Turner. These nominations were approved by show of hands.

16. Election of Members to Group Executive

The Chairman proposed that the following be elected to the Group Executive Committee: Jo Allen, Dave Edwards and Ian Kirby. These nominations were approved by show of hands.

17. District Commissioner

The District Commissioner, Mark Dowsett, made a brief speech in which he thanked everybody who contributed to the ongoing success of the 18th Edmonton Scout Group.

18. **Presentations**

Year Stars were presented.

The Beaver Leader thanked leaders and helpers for their help and support.

The Cub Scout Leader presented her report, detailing many of the activities that had taken place throughout the year. She thanked leaders and helpers for their assistance and presented gifts. The Best Behaved Cub award was presented to Theano Belesis.

The Scout Leader outlined some of the activities that had taken place during the year. He thanked leaders and helpers for their assistance and presented gifts.

Darren Leonard said a few words on behalf of the Bush Hill Park Explorer Unit.

19. Entertainment

A programme of entertainment was provided, involving children from all the sections.

20. Flag Down

The Meeting closed at 8.40 pm and was followed by refreshments.